Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea. Photos and Poetry 9

.

via http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/weekly-photo-challenge-sea/ 

I am using this weeks challenge as a  perfect excuse for me to pay a tribute to the wonderful poet Seamus Heaney who sadly died too soon on the 30th August 2013.  He will indeed be much missed.

.

sunset on mallorcan beach

.

LOVERS ON ARAN

The timeless waves, bright sifting, broken glass,
Came dazzling around, in the rocks,
Came glinting, sifting from the Americas

To possess Aran. Or did Aran rush
To throw wide arms of rock around a tide
That yielded with an ebb, with a soft crash?

Did sea define the land or the land the sea?
Each drew new meaning from the waves’ collision.
Sea broke on land to full identity.

Seamus Heaney

.

Though, of course, this is not a photo of Aran, so I am indeed using poetic license!

.

You can see my other posts which combine my love of Photos and Poetry  here

.

If you don’t already know my other blog 1500 Saturdays I hope you’ll pop over and take a look here 

.

If you’d like to,  take a look at my Redbubble page here 

.

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea. Photos and Poetry 9

  1. Pingback: Photo Project ’52 Bolivian Sundays’ [week 35, 'Sea']. Okay, no sea in Bolivia, but… | 3rdculturechildren

  2. Pingback: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea (1) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  3. Yes, very sad about SH, certainly a great man – I have his spoken version of Beowulf. But I must confess to not being a great poetry fan – but I must also confess to having bought a 2nd hand copy of Rupert Brooke’s complete works today – how’s that for confessions??? 🙂

    And I like your photo – excellent colours and very atmospheric. A

    • A good choice Adrian. I am a fan of Rupert Brooke’s work. A serious word of advise for you about Poetry. It needs performance. Mad as this may seem it needs to be read aloud while standing up and preferably whilst walking around the room. waling with the timing of the words brings it alive. Try it..

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea Through My Heart | Molly Greye

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sea (at Galilee) | JaniceHeck

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Joe's Musings

Leave a comment