My 500th post – Captivity

So my 500th Post !!  Wow !!

Thanks to everyone who visits and comments, there’s no point me doing this without you 🙂

.

.

 

See below about Monkey World which is a sanctuary.  The apes that live there have been rescued from many different places, often where they have been subjected to great cruelty, some even from medical laboratories.

I am using the hands in particular to highlight how similar these primates are to ourselves ( and the tail to show how different !)  and the unsatisfactory nature of captivity. However it appears to me that these rescued creatures are living the best life possible despite their captivity and certainly much better than the life they were leading before their rescue. This is obviously not always the case for captive animals.

.

Taken at Monkey World in Dorset “Monkey World assists governments around the world to stop the smuggling of primates from the wild. At the Centre refugees of this illegal trade as well as those that have suffered abuse or neglect are rehabilitated into natural living groups” http://www.monkeyworld.org/ 

You can see my other monkey/ape photos here

.

If you don’t already know my other blog 1500 Saturdays I hope you’ll pop over and take a look here 

.

or you can take a look at my  Redbubble page here 

.

43 thoughts on “My 500th post – Captivity

  1. Oh, I do like this project! The similarity/difference is nicely set up by the chain link structure – a very strong visual. The mosaic works really well with this. It’s kind of like a graphic essay on captivity. So much you could do to expand this….if you want. It might be the perfect illustration for this organization’s work. I dunno. But it’s a very cool series of shots!!

  2. Very interesting series, and it definitely makes you think. We all have many cages, whether or not we can see them. Congratulations on your 500th post!! -Sonya

  3. Helen, well done …. and you have done a fantastic job too .. with your post and your photos, always a true pleasure to land here in your world *smile
    Looking forward to the next 500 *smile

  4. 500 eh?
    I’ve not even managed 300….(though I’m not in half as much trouble with the Housework Police)……..
    Still…. in my humble opinion, all of your shirking has paid off…….500 blogs and I can count the really crap ones on one hand…
    ;-D

  5. Well done, Helen, you’ve earned a celebration for sure! And the images here, and the stories behind them, are really riveting and (absolutely no play on words intended) very touching. Thanks for this!

  6. Well done with the 500 posts Helen. I’m afraid that I have missed a few recently. I love this set and think that the common theme of ‘chain link fencing’ works really well with the subject. It is nice to hear you say that their lives are pretty fair bearing in mind what they suffered previously. I’ve never been to Monkey World but perhaps I should since it is pretty close.

Leave a Reply

