Essence of a Blue-Bottle… no not a blue bottle…

I am on the run-in to the end of my 366 challenge with less that 2 weeks to go..

This is number 12

.

I took these photos of a blue-bottle fly  in my kitchen many months ago, actually back in April!!! but rather obsessively took too many and then couldn’t face editing them. I came upon them again today and thought it about time I got on with doing it..so here they are. They were all shot as Jpegs.

 Flies can be beautiful too and I’m rather excited to have these done at last. I wanted to portray a feeling of the fly;  its beautiful colours as well as the movement of its legs and wings when it cleans itself. I hope you like them 🙂 

( by the way the fly was alive and buzzing in the window of my kitchen and I let it outside afterwards)

If you want to make any of them larger just click on the photo

.

eyes…….allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 128

.

allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 120

.

allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 149……allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 135

.

allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 153

.

allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 176……allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 145

.

allotment fire, work flowers and FLY 171

.

I did another “Essence of” post a while back and you can see that here

If you don’t already know my other blog 1500 Saturdays I hope you’ll pop over and take a look here 

Several people have asked where they might buy cards/prints of my work so I am gradually adding favourites to my new Redbubble shopping page here  and I put lots of new ones on yesterday.

.

25 thoughts on “Essence of a Blue-Bottle… no not a blue bottle…

  1. Hiya C-Bomb
    Now I think you’ve probably guessed, but I dont really like macro photography that much…(sorry coz I know you say its your first love..)
    BUT..
    The second one of these is really, really lovely…
    Fantastic image!!

  2. Wow. These are beautiful.
    Every time I think of bluebottle flies I remember the first paragraph of Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things and the old B&W movie of The Fly. These photos are so beautiful they might be the third thing I think of when I think of flies.

  3. I hate blue-bottles and these photos confirm that they are precision engineered machines and their behaviour indicates that they have no central processing core….shudder…

    Stunning photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

