Woodland wonders – Tiny leaves on a mighty oak

.

Back to the Woodland I’ve been featuring this week.. you can see the others here

What I am trying to portray in this series is a tranquil misty sort of mood and a rather splendid decaying-ness rather than crisp focus;  showing the last remnants of colour before the winter earth takes it away.

This is the 5th in the series

.

It amazes me how strong spider silk is, there was quite a stiff breeze blowing but the leaf hung on as it was being blown horizontally.

.

and this one? well I just love that the tiny leaves seem to be trying to hang on to a little colour.

.

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  where I write about what I’m thinking, talking about, photographing or doing on all the Saturdays I hope I’ll have left!

4 thoughts on “Woodland wonders – Tiny leaves on a mighty oak

  1. I imagine the wind whipping that spider strand…thanks for writing about that detail. What a clever tool for snagging a meal, and what interesting stuff to find abandoned in the woods! (I prefer it to the stuff we leave around in landfills and other places.)

    • Oh yes it is very clever isn’t it..It amazes me how spiders can judge the wind and send out a silk thread dozens of times longer than themselves to be caught on another object so they can secure passage on their own high wire..rather brilliant.

Leave a Reply

