Friday Faces 15 ( and Woodland Wonders) – a miserable Ent

.

I saw him when I was in my local wood photographing the autumn leaf series that I’ve been showing you this week.

2 children aged about 8 and 10 went past him just before I did and didn’t appear to notice him… can only certain people see Ents?   You can see him can’t you?  He is rather miserable.. probably missing the sunshine 😉

I have not changed this at all, he is just as I saw him. Best to lean back a little from your computer and you will to see him better..

I seem to be seeing a lot of Ents lately ( I need to keep taking the tablets!! )   You can see the other posts featuring these tree people here 

You can see my other Friday Faces here

.

.

If you are not familiar with The Lord of the Rings’ Ents here’s a quote from Wikipedia –

“Ents are a race of beings in J. R. R. Tolkien‘s fantasy world Middle-earth who closely resemble trees. They are similar to the talking trees in folklore around the world. Their name is derived from the Anglo-Saxon word for giant“  You will have to use your imagination on this post ! 

.

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  where I write about what I’m thinking, talking about, photographing or doing on all the Saturdays I hope I’ll have left!

45 thoughts on “Friday Faces 15 ( and Woodland Wonders) – a miserable Ent

  1. Reblogged this on filmcamera999 and commented:
    ….i see him alright! he looks a bit upset! i once talked to a guy who reckons he can see fairies and angels in the woods….and he thinks trees with these face-like characteristics are real spirit people…:)
    each to his/her own, i suppose…

  2. Oh I like this one, Helen, Tolkien and all! Tho he/she/it is looking rather stern and disapproving … I’m used to that.

    But there’s something else here, which I don’t think is a result of last night’s cider – but when I look at this shot, the trunk >>>really stands out from the background, so as to almost look like a hologram – and as I move slightly, the trunk seems to be moving slightly against the background – bet you’d like some of what I’m on! A

    • Oh thnak you for noticing that Adrian.. I rather over sharpened the image to make the tree trunk stand out more so I am very happy that you picked up on it.. not sure about the movement though ..haha

  3. Yeah he’s cool! I just love photographing trees, they are very special. I recently photographed one in a church yard in Herefordshire. The Church Warder told me the tree was at least 1,000 years old!! I just stood and stared at this magnificent Yew, and wondered what it had seen throughout it’s life.
    I think Stuart might be right, your tree does look like a miserable Pepperami. 🙂

  4. quite remarkable!!! Never saw one myself. Will have to peel my eyes next time we walk in the woods.
    Like your woodland views!

Leave a Reply

