Photos and poetry 4 – Spared

.

You can see the others in the Photos and Poetry series so far here

I took the photo below in Kew Gardens back in May and it reminded me of 9/11 and the people who died in the Twin Towers of the World Trade Centre in New York. Almost immediately after I’d taken it I thought of the moving poem of Wendy Cope’s which is below the photo.

The sculpture is by David Nash. It’s called Charred Crossed Egg and is made from a huge piece of charred oak.

Spared


‘That  Love is all there is,
Is all we know of Love…’
— Emily Dickinson

It wasn’t you, it wasn’t me,
Up there, two thousand feet above
A New York  street. We’re safe and free,
A little while, to live and  love,

Imagining what might have been –
The phone call from the blazing  tower,
A last farewell on the machine,
While someone sleeps another  hour,

Or worse, perhaps, to say goodbye
And listen to each other’s  pain,
Send helpless love across the sky,
Knowing we’ll never meet  again,

Or jump together, hand in hand,
To certain death. Spared all of  this
For now, how well I understand
That love is all, is all there  is.

Wendy Cope

.

I have neglected the photos I took at Kew gardens in May but might share some of  them in between the Scotland ones.

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  where I write about what I’m thinking, talking about, photographing or doing on all the Saturdays I hope I’ll have left!

.

8 thoughts on “Photos and poetry 4 – Spared

  1. My aunt was in the Towers when the bomb went off in 1993. She was babysitting her grandchildren in 2001 and didn’t work there any more. Spared, scared, maybe prepared. Are we ever prepared?

Leave a Reply

