One Love Festival – Innocence

This week I’m going to show you some of the faces and stuff from the One Love Reggae/dub (and Ska) music festival at Hops Farm in Kent which I went to with a friend at the weekend.  I’ve written about it on 1500 Saturdays which you can read here

I photographed a lot of faces but this girl Nikki really stuck out for me. I photographed her at about 8.15 pm, without her knowledge as I didn’t want “poses”.

I took them at ISO 6400 because I wanted the graininess and softness which I think adds to the innocent/sad look that I was trying to create. Now I don’t know Nikki so she might well laugh at me calling her innocent or sad !

I spoke to Nikki after I’d taken the photos and she liked them so here they are and I’ll be emailing her the photos and the link to this post later today.

So I give to you the lovely Nikki and to her a big thank you.

.

.

.

.

.

.

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  where I write about what I’m thinking, talking about, photographing or doing on all the Saturdays I hope I’ll have left!

.

20 thoughts on “One Love Festival – Innocence

    • The first one was the first one I took and I rather hunted her down to take the other 2 ! .. I tried B&W and it was okay but made it harsher and I preferred the gentler tones Scilla

  1. The first shot is really lovely composition Helen. Since you were seeking softness in the portrait, is there any scope for reducing the ISO noise a little in Post Processing? Maybe you have tried, but if not, perhaps it would be worth experimenting. I’m not sure what PP software you use.

    To me she looks a little sad.

  2. Beautiful (Image and Girl) – I like the fact that you do not look as it you have ‘messed’ with them. If you know what I mean… a temptation I am sure? B&W would have taken away the impact.

    David.

  3. Good portraits, Helen – the top one really does it for me. Excellent idea – showing her the pics afterwards and sending her copies – certainly worth remembering. Adrian

Leave a Reply

