Portrait of a Day at Wimbledon and Friday Faces 12 – A Famous Tennis Family

.

You can see my other “Portrait of a Day at Wimbledon” photos here.

 and my other Friday Faces here and here

The photos below are of possibly one of the most famous tennis families of all time who we happened to be sitting just a few seats away from at Wimbledon. I find people watching utterly fascinating.

Do you recognise him?

It’s Richard Williams (in)famous father of Venus and Serena

.

.

.

and his ex-wife, their mother Oracene who watched him arrive.

 .

.

Mr Williams sat like this (below) for much of the afternoon and constantly, quietly shouted ( I know that sounds odd but that’s how it was) to Venus who wasn’t playing so well..

.

.

This was Oracene’s reaction to one of his shouts !!

.

During the match there were some disagreements shall we say between Mr Williams and one of the other coaches and afterwards Mr Williams approached him  and words were exchanged.

.

I think Serena looks a lot like her mother  don’t you? 

.

and Venus more like her father?

.

Just to finish I posted a rather unattractive photo of Oracene Williams above and thought I should post a somewhat happier photo

.

That’s the last of Wimbledon for a while though I might post a few more just to make the series complete just not yet 🙂

Back to Macro tomorrow..

.

You can see my other posts with a “Portrait of ” tag here, here and here

.

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  

.

27 thoughts on “Portrait of a Day at Wimbledon and Friday Faces 12 – A Famous Tennis Family

  1. In all honesty, I don’t follow tennis. I have LOVED your photos, though! Anyway… what I wanted to comment about, though, since I don’t pay attention to tennis, I take it that there have been some issues somewhere along the way with the girls father?

  2. Super candid portraits Helen. I presume they were candids, as I don’t think I would have wanted to be spotted by either of the Williams parents.

    I’m afraid my old brain is running out of superlatives for your photos, but please keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

