Which life is best?

.

I posted the photograph you see below at the beginning of  April. If you’re not familiar with it do please look at the post Zoo – Brain Damaged Fox here before you scan down the page

If you read the first comment on that post and my reply to it you will see that I was wondering whether it was a good thing to have saved this fox to live in a pit in the ground and be looked at by strangers.

But….. you will notice that this fox is in excellent condition.

Now do please scroll down.

.

.

Early yesterday morning ( before the blasted rain set in again !) I went out with my camera for a walk in the fields near the allotments a few minutes walk from my house.

I saw this fox.

.

  . 

.

You can see that this fox is in poor condition and appears to either  have only one eye or have a bad infection in its eye.

This encounter made me wonder whether the brain-damaged fox in the zoo had such a bad life after all.

Oh and If you’re reading this Stuart the Viaduct will be back soon ! 

 .

If you care to you can read my other blog 1500 saturdays here

30 thoughts on “Which life is best?

  1. Reminds me of the Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Sharp:
    “Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”
    Life in the wild makes you Real, I suspect.

  2. There is nothing better than natural life, or life as it was mean to be. But since our world is not as it was meant to be, it begs the question of weather being cared for even in a pit is better in this case… a difficult question.

    • Completely agree with this sentiment Mimo… unfortunately the first fox cannot live as it was meant to live because of human intervention..eg an accident involving humans.

  3. All for the wild life:) The foxes where I live (when they reveal themselves), look haggard and frail as well. That’s got to be human fault-edging into fox territory. Great shots Helen.

    • Thnaks yo so much for the link Rachael. I’ve just been on and submitted this fox ( and also the one I saw a few minutes before it !! which had 2 good eyes but looked just as scruffy. I didn’t get such a good shot of that one)

  4. Could this be a lactating vixen? Might explain the scruffiness. Babies take a lot out of their mammies.
    Love the wildlife though, and the way you can get them so close up!!!

    • I think it definitely could be Marleen.. I am going to keep my eyes open for more… I did see a 2nd one just a few moments before this one and it was in much better condition. The partner of this one I would say..

  5. No problem for me here, Helen. The Fox should be out of that pit but, as for the other one, that’s how Nature is, warts and all – there but for the grace of whatever it is that we believe in – if we believe in anything at all – go you and I! Adrian

Leave a Reply

