The Glory of Flight

A few weeks ago I posted a photo of an eagle in flight at a Bird of Prey centre; my first decent one of a bird flying.

Here are some more, this time of herons.

One of the things I love about this new camera of mine is its capability to capture a bird in flight. A real joy.. 

.

Flying into the sun

 

.

I just love the way it holds its legs and feet, don’t you?

.

I’m off to the Olympic pool!!  ( just a bit of fun!)

.

 You can see my other bird photos here

 .

If you care to you can read my other blog 1500 saturdays here

32 thoughts on “The Glory of Flight

    • Save up and buy yourself one Scilla… could be the best money you ever spend.. I have got more than my money’s worth of enjoyment since I bought mine 6 months or so ago..

  1. Great photos! Is the color on that first one real, or touched up? It’s amazing – I don’t think I’ve ever seen a heron so *blue* before!

    • Aj All 3 photos were taken just after 7 on the morning of the 20th April within a minute of each other.. I have only added a bit of contrast to darken the pictures otherwise they are all as taken. The first shot ( which was taken first) was of the heron flying sort of into the direction of the sun which was very low and bright.. I think that’s what has produced this colour..the other 2 were taken after it circled and flew away from the sun..

  2. these are lovely Helen, I have a soft spot for herons, they always remind me tall, thin, very serious men, judges perhaps, or undertakers

  3. Pingback: Somersham Lake 9 – Tribute to the Last Duckling. « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

Leave a Reply

