Just the tonic I needed.. an IGPOTY commendation

.

If you follow my other blog 1500 Saturdays you’ll know that I mentioned I’d had some good feedback from my entries for last years International Garden Photographer of the Year competition and in particular for a photograph called Misty Ducks.

The day I took that photograph, back in October with my FujiFinepix S5600, I took a couple of others and I thought I’d enter another very similar one in the Special projects :Monochrome section of this years competition (different judges I think)

This is the photo called Misty Sunrise at the Lake. 

.

 

.

 I heard today that it had been commended. You can see it at the bottom of the winners page here

They told me it couldn’t have got any more than commended because it is only  72dpi and would not be of good enough quality to be blown up to the size needed for the exhibitions that include highly commended, finalists and winners . 

Some of you will know that I haven’t been feeling too well lately so this was a particularly welcome surprise.

It was always my intention to enter some of my more recent NikonD5100 photos to different sections of the competition; maybe macro, wildlife or trees?   and this has given me great encouragement. 

Now which photos?? … hmmm

.

If you’d like to you can read more from my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  

.

46 thoughts on “Just the tonic I needed.. an IGPOTY commendation

    • Almost none Rhonda.. the original had a golden glow so I just changed it to B&W, took the tiniest bit off the left hand side of the picture, added a little contrast and that was it.

  1. Pingback: Spooky Tree in the Fog « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

  2. Pingback: Somersham Lake 7 – Painterly ducks « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

Leave a Reply

