A little bit of trickery..

 .

I’ve had this snail photo for ages. It was taken in May last year with my Fuji Finepix so quality isn’t great I know

but…..

 I thought I’d have a bit of fun with this photo and add to my learning at the same time.

I’ve had Photoshop 7 for ages (it was a gift) but I hadn’t used it.. ( Techy stuff just usually annoys me ! ).. several people kept encouraging me ( you know who you are!! ) but I have been a bit of a purist until recently.

So I started to take a little time and gradually find out about what it can do. I discovered the healing tool which is fab for removing those little blemishes and the other day Lo and behold I found the cloning tool…

The bottom photo Snail Race is the product of my 1st playing around with cloning and I know I need to work on not having any blurring… but what fun!!

.

Snail Race

.

 

 .

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  

27 thoughts on “A little bit of trickery..

  1. 1) The photograph is so nice… The colours fascinated me.
    2) What a great imaginary… I loved this snail race…
    3) I am so glad to hear that you did something with photoshop, it is great fun

    I loved it dear Helen, made me smile… Your creavitiy and your amazing photography will be so nice with your photoshop experiences… Thank you, with my love, nia

      • It IS a really steep learning curve coming in cold…I started with a version of Photoshop 4, far less versatile and consequently far easier than 7 which I know you are using, but it was still incredibly daunting..
        All I can say is that if you consider yourself a photographer, and if anyone should, you should…then you MUST persevere..Photoshop is as much a part of the digital image process as the lens and body of your camera.
        I know I overuse it sometimes…I’m fully aware of that and dont really apologise for it as I enjoy an obvious non-reality in some of the images I produce…but used sensitively photoshop will, without doubt, improve every single image that comes off your SD card in some small way…
        I’ve never used 7 as I jumped from 4 to CS5 but there is a book available called ‘photoshop 7 for photographers’ by martin evening (12 quid on amazon)..i’ve used the same title for 4 and for CS5, he does a re-write and up-date for each new version…mighty fine book to get your head around the basics..use that for a month and that learning curve will smooth out a treat.
        🙂

  2. Reminds me of a couple of jokes.

    1. What does the slug say, riding on top of the snail? “Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!”

    2. A snail is mugged by a slug, and when asked by the police to describe the mugger, the snail replies, “I don’t know. It all happened so fast!”

  3. Excellent stuff, Helen! And yes, I know all about you social workers and “techy stuff” – its enough to make a grown man weep!

    >>>NOW, you’ve got the camera and you’ve got Photoshop …… if we could just get you onto black and whites in Silver Efex Pro 2 – how about it? Adrian

Leave a Reply

