Zoo – Brain Damaged Fox

I went to the Zoo a week or so ago.

I have a long-standing abhorrence for traditional zoos and have not been to one for many, many years although I know it’s only fair to point out that most are now involved in breeding and conservation projects as is this one.

The zoo rehouses animals from other places or, as in the case of this fox, takes in damaged animals. I’m not going to name the zoo in question but will be posting photographs over the next few weeks.

This fox lives in a large pit and visitors look down on him. He lives with another rescued fox who doesn’t like visitors so only comes out when the zoo is closed. The fox I photographed had been involved in an accident and was brain-damaged. 

Maybe you can tell that from his eyes? What do you think is reflected in them?

I’ll leave you to draw your own conclusions about what you see below but whatever your thoughts I’m sure you’ll agree that he has a beautiful face.

 .

 .

.

.

.

.

 

Round and round and round and round

.

 .

If you care to you can read my other blog 1500 saturdays here

36 thoughts on “Zoo – Brain Damaged Fox

  1. Incredible face. What’s he thinking? In the top photo, I would simply say he’s thinking, “Why?” But in the bottom photo, he seems terribly lost and appears to be thinking, “Help me.” Very sad. But I’m grateful he has been taken care of because he would not have survived like this on his own.

  2. Sometimes zoos are the saddest places to be. Watching animals with obsessive-compulsive behaviors isn’t fun. But the animals are beautiful and zoos do try to help. These are touching; those eyes!!

  3. In NZ when I was a kid there was a polar bear in a zoo.. it was awful, he walked the same track around his concrete pretend enclosure all day. And swayed in place then walked his enclosure again. i have always referred to entrapment as being like a polar bear in a zoo. beautiful miserable rescued fox. i just wrote about animals in cages yesterday, Finding Kupa it is called. i find it deeply unsettling the madness that ensues when any animal is trapped.. c

  4. Pingback: Zoo – Prairie dog swimming…. in grass?? « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

    • Of course Laura the fox is brain damaged so he would not be able to manage if he was set free.. I guess it’s the idea of living in a pit that upsets us but then we are putting our human feelings on the fox.. he might love it!

  5. I thought I had left a comment about this before, but I guess not.. I absolutely love this set of photos. He’s very beautiful and what you’ve typed about his history makes it even more emotional. Really well done.

  6. Pingback: Which life is best? « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

  7. Well…..I think it’s fair to say that any of us who are one with nature and wildlife see zoos and circuses as places of torture! Maybe a bit over the top, maybe not. It is very difficult not to put human emotions onto the other animals, because that’s exactly what we are to them ‘other animals’. The fox in the pit? A lovely photo of a beautiful face. The question I guess is this. Is the animal suffering? In any way at all? If the answer is yes, then we owe it to the fox to euthanise just the same as we plead for humans suffering dreadful illnesses, to have their machines switched off. On the other hand if the fox is not suffering then it’s good to know that he/she is being cared for. I know a number of zoos are doing a lot of good with their breeding programmes, but generally, I think the time has come to re-think the whole Zoo thing.

    • Completely agree with you Mark. How could you tell whether the fox is suffering or not? he was obviously suffering after the accident but is now “well cared for” certainly in terms of being fed and clean but on show for the amusement of others??? The debate will go on I’m sure..

  8. I’m not fond of zoos … particularly the more trditional type. When I reflect upon some of the places I visited as a child … elephant and orangs in tiny concrete boxes … I realise we have come some distance. I’ve often been struck by the idea that to make an enclosure large and interesting enough to accommodate a given animals range and natural habitat, the closer we come to the actual habitat. If so, why bother destroying the actual habitat in the first place? Ahhh … hindsight!

Leave a Reply

