Somersham Lake 5 – Trees in the fog

This is a follow-up to yesterdays post Somersham Lake 4 – Wildlife in the Fog which you can see here and Somersham Lake 3 – Grasses in the Fog which you can see here

and you can see my other Somersham lake posts here and here

.

I started this blog because I thought the discipline would be good for me and I wanted to get feedback from all of you about what you like and don’t like.  So far that’s been interesting and sometimes surprising !

I am all the time learning about who I am and what I like to photograph.. eventually I hope my own style will develop and I may even start to understand what I’m doing with my rather complicated camera!

Enough of that now here’s some more homework for you  🙂 

Trees in the fog.. I used several different settings to take these, some differences are more subtle than others..I haven’t done any cropping to them as yet.

 Which works best for you?  if any !!

.

.

.

 .

.

 .

.

 .

.

 

.

.

.

If you’d like to you can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here  

28 thoughts on “Somersham Lake 5 – Trees in the fog

  1. I like the first one and the last one, and I suppose they are similar in their depth of field. The first has a character front and center which contrasts with others in the back. The last has several in the front but then fades back quite a ways. I find the depth interesting, I guess. The longer it extends, the more my imagination runs with it. If you had one quite close and an infinite field in the back, that would be the best of both worlds to me.

    • Thanks Scilla thoughtful as ever..as you can see all except the last one were taken at the edge of the little piece of woodland, where as the last one was taken in a different part of the woodland where trees continued well into the background

  2. I love the last one too, it looks as if something is just about to appear along the path: a unicorn, a werewolf or a knight in shining armour perhaps….. 🙂

  3. I like the last one. For me, the others spill out into the distance without really going anwhere: the picture evaporates. In the last one that seepage has been stemmed, the atmosphere is contained (quite powerfully), and the gradation of tones very effectively conveys the sense of depth

  4. Good pictures – I like the bottom three most because they are darker – maybe the one above the bottom is my favourite because I like that very stark , black trunk that cuts up through the picture just right of center – eerie, forbidding! Adrian

Leave a Reply

