Portrait of an old barn

This post is especially for my friend Steve Clarke as I’m sure this is the shed he says he keeps meaning to photograph on the road to Earith…beat you to it Steve !

Taken  a couple of weeks ago at the end of the day on my way home from work which, as you may have noticed by now, seems to be one of my favourite times. ( for light and because work is over !! )  

So photos rapidly move from little light to almost none..

 .

 

 

.

 

 .

.

 

.

 .

 .

.

.

.

 .

.

.

.

 

.

.

.

.

..

You can see the other “Portraits of” here

.

You  can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here

.

32 thoughts on “Portrait of an old barn

  1. WOW! Dear Helen you caught and captured such a nice light for this barn… The colours are amazing. I loved them all but number 8 fascinated me with the window in light…. standing so beautiful… Thank you, you did a great set. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  2. Helen, these are fantastic! The whole series is a huge success! I love the lines in Barn Section 1 and in the Close up of the Side Window Without Light, but the Close up of the Sunlit Window is absolutely exquisite! Looks like you caught the PERFECT light.

  3. Splendid….Gorgeous barn, lovely light, especially as it got darker and the low sun hit the side….VERY NICE…
    On a separate theme:
    Rust Man……
    I went Friday afternoon and again today but the building was locked up both times..so no more shots I’m afraid..However, I’ve managed to find out the yard is owned by a company called James W Shenton Ltd….http://www.jameswshenton.co.uk/jwsborder.htm
    I suggest you give’em a blast on the blower…If it comes to anything and you need any local assistance you can always let that lovely chap masquerading as a photographer know….He’ll be glad to help.
    🙂

  4. So much rich, contrasting texture! The gold light in the windows is quite striking and I love all the subtle colour shifts in the buildings materials.
    A great subject Helen. Well done.

  5. Pingback: Portrait of an old barn – take 2 « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

Leave a Reply

