Portrait of Haworth Graveyard associated with the Bronte’s

I visited Haworth Parsonage on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales when I was coming home from Cumbria a couple of weeks ago ( so long ago already! )

This is where the famous Bronte family of writers lived. Of course you are not allowed to take photos in the Parsonage so I took some outside, of the graveyard in the Church beside it.  Patrick Bronte took up the post of Reverend in 1820 and moved into the parsonage. The graveyard was central to the life of the Bronte’s at that time as life expectancy was less than 25 with some 41% of children dying before the age of 6.

All of Patrick Bronte’s 6 children died young with Charlotte being the one who lived the longest at 39 !

Patrick himself lived to the age of 86 having outlived his wife and all his children. How sad.

It seems wholly appropriate that it was a dark  and rather miserable day of constant rain and I have deliberately muted the colours in some shots . I’ll post a few more tomorrow

1st shot is of the parsonage from the graveyard

 .

 

 

.

The Church

 .

.

.

.

.

The gate to the church

.

.

.

.

I was intrigued by how this tree was growing over the gravestone

.

 .

You can see some of the photos I took when I was in Cumbria here  

.

You  can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here

.

24 thoughts on “Portrait of Haworth Graveyard associated with the Bronte’s

  1. Very sad statistics. No wonder people were dressed in black most of the time back then.
    Very solemn pictures. Suit the mood of the environment and history.
    Amazing how the browns and greens of tree and moss keep popping up. Never noticed that before anywhere else. Must be very typical for Cumbria. Or maybe I wasn’t paying attention…?

    • Cumbria is indeed filled with mossy green it’s because its so damp all the time I’d imagine Marleen and the trees look browner because they were wet all the time I was there !.

  2. Thanks so much, Helen. I really enjoyed this tour. I see where the atmosphere of the girl’s books came from. I am inspired to read them again.

    • Thank you karen. I was on my way home and shouldn’t really have detoured to see Haworth but glad I did. I should like to go back when I have more time and maybe when it’s not raining quite so much !

  3. Pingback: Portrait of Haworth Graveyard part 2 « Helen's Photomania Blog – a 366 of sorts.

Leave a Reply

