Portrait of a shipwreck.

Taken somewhere in Cumbria. I think on the coast near Barrow-in-Furnace. One thing I noticed about Cumbria was how colourful the landscape was even when the skies were almost permanently grey.

Added later in the day after a bit of research – It’s the wreck of a trawler and is beside the causeway to Roa Island.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 .

.

.

.

 

.

 .

You can see some of the other photos I took when I was in Cumbria here  

.

You  can read my other blog 1500 Saturdays here

.

20 thoughts on “Portrait of a shipwreck.

  1. A super series of images Helen. They are all very good, but the first persists in my mind throughout my viewing, which I think means that I most like to see the wreck in its environment. I’m sure that there will be many who disagree, and prefer the tighter crops on the details of the wreck, and I do respect that view.

    Did you get your feet wet and muddy?

    • Thanks Dave.. didn’t get my feet wet at all ! This wreck was just off a fairly main road so I spotted it as I went past parked up the road and walked back to photograph it. Was just intending taking the one shot, the first one that you mention, but curiosity got the better of me and I just had to explore futher !

    • Thank you Karen. I googled this today and there are several images of the wreck some taken in 2010 when it was almost whole.. Another year or maybe less and it will be completely gone 😦

  2. Do you think there might be some group of photographers going around deliberately scuttling boats and ships?……They always make such fantastic subjects….
    These are great Hellen, I like the ‘scene’ shots the most….the close-up shots are good, but the scenes of the boat and its environment are so dramatic.

Leave a Reply

