A Murder of Crows ( actually it’s a Parliament of Rooks – my mistake!)

 .

The Crows Fly Home Before Nightfall

 “The sun falls
Daylight shatters.
They spill across the air
A stream of shadows
Poured into some branched and woody vase
Stripped leafless in the winter air”

an extract from a poem by Elizabeth Liechti

.

.


.

Have just been told by my friend Caroline ( she’s a vet ) that these are rooks not crows… DOH !!   

What do I know! not much about birds obviously 😉

My other blog 1500 Saturdays is here

26 thoughts on “A Murder of Crows ( actually it’s a Parliament of Rooks – my mistake!)

  1. The poem is gorgeous Helen, I must look it up to read the rest. Although crows are not sociable, and these are rooks 🙂 Artistic licence?

  2. Oh !!!! No complete ignorance on my part Caroline !! I’m sure I shall be severely berated now by all and sundry ! Ah well What do I know ! not much about birds obviously haha 😉

  3. Over the land freckled with snow half-thawed
    The speculating rooks at their nests cawed
    And saw from elm-tops, delicate as flowers of grass,
    What we below could not see, Winter pass.

    Edward Thomas

    My favourite rook poem 🙂

  4. Thank you Scilla 🙂 I am not really a walking poetry anthology, I just happen to particularly like that poem. I first found it written out beautifully in a calligraphy book by Margaret Daubney.

  5. Me too Karen.. I love that these birds look black and you think they are just black but as you can see, if you click on the middle photo in particular, they have lots of blueness too..

Leave a Reply

